

## Meeting of the Chairpersons of the Committees on Social Affairs

## **Draft Programme**

23 – 24 MARCH 2017 MALTA

## Thursday, 23 March 2017

15:00 - 18:30	Arrival of delegations and registration at the hotels
18:30	Departure by bus from the hotels to the dinner venue
19:00	Dinner hosted by Hon. Anthony Agius Decelis, <i>Chairman of the Social Affairs</i> <i>Committee</i>
	Venue: Esplora, Interactive Science Centre, Villa Bighi, Kalkara
21:30	Return to the hotels by bus

## Friday, 24 March 2017

10:30	Coffee Break
	Debate
	Speaker: Ms Sian Jones, Policy Coordinator, European Anti-Poverty Network
	Employment and Social Affairs
	Keynote Speaker: Mr Thomas Handel, Chairperson of the EP Committee on
	Europe
09:30	Poverty and Social Exclusion: Working towards a more inclusive
	Social Affairs, Skills and Labour Mobility (tbc)
	Speech by Ms Marianne Thyssen, European Commissioner for Employment,
	Affairs Committee
	Introductory remarks by Hon. Anthony Agius Decelis, Chairman of the Social
	Representatives
	Welcome address by Hon. Angelo Farrugia, Speaker of the House of
09:00	Opening of the meeting
08:30	Arrival of participants and registration for the meeting
	Siege Road, Floriana
08:15	Departure by bus from the conference hotels to the Grand Hotel Excelsior, Great

11:00	What makes an individual socially excluded? Different perspectives
	and exchange of best practices
	Speaker: Prof. Angela Abela, Department of Family Studies, University of Malta
	Speaker: Ms Jana Hainsworth, President, Social Platform
	Speaker: Mr Silvan Agius, Director Human Rights and Integration, Ministry for Social Dialogue, Consumer Affairs and Civil Liberties
	Speaker: Mr Alfonso Lara Montero, Policy Director, European Social Network
	Debate
13:00	Official Photo
	Lunch
14:30	Taking stock of the policies of Europe 2020 and the way forward
	Keynote Speaker: Mr Thomas Dominique, <i>Chairperson, Social Protection</i> Committee
	Speaker: Dr Barbara Kauffmann, <i>Director for Employment and Social Governance, European Commission</i>
	Speaker: Mr Ioannis Dimitrakopoulos, <i>Head of Equality and Citizens' Rights Department, European Union Agency for Fundamental Rights</i>
	Debate
16:15	Concluding remarks by the Chairperson of the Social Affairs Committee
16:30	Departure of delegations